Fulton county villages ask to redraw township lines

Three villages in Fulton County have begun the legal process to redraw township boundaries, which would separate them from the townships. Delta and Archbold have already passed petitions to change the township lines. The Swanton Village Council is expected to discuss a resolution tonight at their committee-of-the-whole session. The Village officials say they are doing this because they are all concerned about double taxation and hope that by working together, other villages in the county would do the same. When villages leave the townships, it affects emergency services and other tax based services. Archbold and Delta officials expect county commissioners to vote on their petitions in late August or early September. While Ohio law states that commissioners must approve such petitions from cities, but they can reject petitions from villages.

Check Also

Deadline Passes

Ohio state lawmakers missed their deadline Wednesday for getting a measure on May ballots that …